Bork Bork!
 FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in
 Super Happy RAM Upgrade Time View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Uty
Tang Soo Techie


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 9583
Location: On a never ending quest to save my girlfriend

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:22 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Right now I've got 2x256MB in my box. I want to get a gig in there, so it looks like I will buy another 2x256 set to plug into my remaining RAM slots. Is it best to buy the exact same kind I already have in my box?

_________________
Roses are #FF0000
Violets are #0000FF
All my base
Are belong to you
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailAIM Address
BrianW
Court Jester


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7505
Location: Probably an ice rink in Newark

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:27 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Yes, but they don't have to necessarily be from the same manufacturer. just speed and type and pin count, generally.

_________________
assert "It's going to be okay."; - xkcd.com
Hockey Schedule
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerICQ Number
maslow
Professional Pun Person


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 4054
Location: Here

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:57 am Reply with quoteBack to top

tiger direct is having a 48-hr supersale on 1g memory:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-Details.asp?EdpNo=1071038&sku=ULT31690&CMP=EMC-TIGEREMAIL&SRCCODE=WEM1273C

_________________
"Can't we all just get aloob?"


*The Traffic Lets Up, But Breathing Becomes Difficult*

Guy on cell: When the freeway ends, turn left...Yes, the freeway ends....Because the continent ends, dipshit.
--Hermosa Beach, California
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressMSN Messenger
Uty
Tang Soo Techie


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 9583
Location: On a never ending quest to save my girlfriend

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:01 am Reply with quoteBack to top

That is super sweet, but my motherboard is set up for DDR

_________________
Roses are #FF0000
Violets are #0000FF
All my base
Are belong to you
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailAIM Address
Uty
Tang Soo Techie


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 9583
Location: On a never ending quest to save my girlfriend

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:42 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Ok, so the RAM came today and it doesn't work. It is actually all the same ram, upon reading my motherboard user manual I learned that it only supports four CORSAIR DIMMS in a dual memory configuration if the size is 256MB. Super fucking lame. Have any of you guys seen this before? All four DIMMS are 184 pin, dual channel 512MB, 400 mhz.

_________________
Roses are #FF0000
Violets are #0000FF
All my base
Are belong to you
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailAIM Address
Stealthr4v3r
Mother Superior


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 3113
Location: West Chester, PA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:04 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

What motherboard do you have?
View user's profileSend private messageAIM Address
Uty
Tang Soo Techie


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 9583
Location: On a never ending quest to save my girlfriend

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:23 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Asus P5GD1.

I have also tested each set individually in the box, they all work. Just not if all four of them are in.

_________________
Roses are #FF0000
Violets are #0000FF
All my base
Are belong to you
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailAIM Address
Stealthr4v3r
Mother Superior


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 3113
Location: West Chester, PA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:57 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Some motherboards are very picky about what ram they will let you use in particular configurations. Looks like you have one of those. You should either try to find ram on their compatible list, buy a less picky motherboard or give up and buy a new MB and new RAM. Maybe now is a good time to convert to DDR2?
View user's profileSend private messageAIM Address
Uty
Tang Soo Techie


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 9583
Location: On a never ending quest to save my girlfriend

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 9:54 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I can buy four of these for just less than 200 bucks. The model number is on my mobo's qualified vendor list. And perhaps sell the old stuff on ebay.

_________________
Roses are #FF0000
Violets are #0000FF
All my base
Are belong to you
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailAIM Address
Stealthr4v3r
Mother Superior


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 3113
Location: West Chester, PA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:45 am Reply with quoteBack to top

You could also try updating your mb bios if you haven't already. It's usually a good idea to keep that up to date anyway.
View user's profileSend private messageAIM Address
The Yellow Dart
Lifeless Reject


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 3734

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:55 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Yeah, your first step should be to flash the BIOS on the motherboard (there should be instructions on doing that in your mobo's manual). Keep in mind you may need to use a floppy drive to do it. Asus is usually pretty good about keeping their motherboards up-to-date and keeping everything on their motherboards working (i.e. the RAM slots).

I personally have 2 sticks of GeIL and 2 sticks of Corsair in my old-ass Asus P4C800-E Deluxe and they all worked the first time I plugged them in. Granted, the board throttled the frequency back to 333 MHz instead of 400 MHz, but I'm not a power user so I don't notice the difference.

See if you can exchange the sticks you bought or return them for credit on Tiger Direct before you sell them on Ebay.

_________________
"If there is a God, and if I ever meet him, I'm just going to kick him in the balls over and over."
- Penny Arcade

"Laura, it was nice boozin with your UD friends. I'll happily share another blowjob with them anytime." - Christi
View user's profileSend private message
Uty
Tang Soo Techie


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 9583
Location: On a never ending quest to save my girlfriend

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:49 am Reply with quoteBack to top

It turns out I can return them. First I'll try upgrading the BIOS. And then flashing them.

Exchanging the sticks will do nothing. I have proven, at least to myself, that everything works. Consider the following configurations in A1 and B1 - o stands for "original set" and n stands for "new set." O/O, N/N, O/N. Every combination boots. I also repeated the three configurations in the A2/B2 slots to ensure those slots work properly.

When I put all four in, not the case.

_________________
Roses are #FF0000
Violets are #0000FF
All my base
Are belong to you
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailAIM Address
The Yellow Dart
Lifeless Reject


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 3734

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 6:58 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Believe it or not, this is a relatively common feature/bug in motherboards. Same with the frequency throttling. Another option, of course, is to buy a 2 x 512MB set and be done with it.

_________________
"If there is a God, and if I ever meet him, I'm just going to kick him in the balls over and over."
- Penny Arcade

"Laura, it was nice boozin with your UD friends. I'll happily share another blowjob with them anytime." - Christi
View user's profileSend private message
Stealthr4v3r
Mother Superior


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 3113
Location: West Chester, PA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:31 am Reply with quoteBack to top

The Yellow Dart wrote:
Believe it or not, this is a relatively common feature/bug in motherboards.


Not <i>that</i> common. But common enough that it's a good idea to read as many reviews as you can about a MB before you get it. I like to read the long lists of buyer reviews at newegg. I think part of Uty's problem is that the chipset on the board he got was not exactly the the top of the line. I think the manual even says something specifically about chipset limitations. So yeah, caveat emptor.
View user's profileSend private messageAIM Address
Uty
Tang Soo Techie


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 9583
Location: On a never ending quest to save my girlfriend

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:54 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I was impressed by how easy it was to upgrade the BIOS, but it didn't work. Good idea though. I'm going to buy 4x what I linked to earlier on the thread since it is listed as working my my mobo's user manual. Newegg will let me return what I just bought.

_________________
Roses are #FF0000
Violets are #0000FF
All my base
Are belong to you
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailAIM Address
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT - 5 Hours